top of page
IMG_0106.jpg
The

ORIGINS

The Belga story begins on New Year's Eve 2016, when two friends who had recently arrived in Switzerland and were a little tipsy from the evening suddenly had a craving for fries. Longing for the typical Belgian chip shops, they imagined opening one to make up for the shortage in the region. The next day, they tell themselves that it was not such a bad idea after all...

 

Three years later, the Belga opened its doors in the Plainpalais district. The friterie-bar concept offers fries made from Swiss potatoes and cooked according to traditional Belgian know-how, accompanied by a variety of sauces, meats and other Belgian specialties, prepared with fresh and local products. The bar area offers around fifteen Belgian beers, frequently renewed to satisfy the most demanding connoisseurs.

In an industrial style inspired by Belgian brasseries, the atmosphere is friendly and relaxed.

about 

THE Friterie

A real institution in Belgium (there are more than 5000 in the country), the chip shop (also called friture, frituur or frietkot in Flanders) is a fixed or mobile establishment in which fries are served of course, but also a whole range of snacks, typical meats and sauces. 

 

Until the beginning of 1980s, the fries were served in a conical bag, the base of the bag being made of parchment paper then surrounded by a sheet of food paper. The sauce was served directly over the fries. People would also go to the friture with a dish and a dish towel. The fryer would put the dish to be heated on top of his fryer, draw from his supply of fries and pour in a sufficient quantity to fill the dish.

Today, fries are still served in a paper cone as tradition dictates. The dish towels have disappeared but the fries remain authentic!

IMG_0102.jpg

Your dose of belgattitude here:

  • Instagram - Black Circle
  • Facebook - Black Circle
bottom of page

Abonnez-vous à notre newsletter

Suivez-nous

  • Instagram - Belga
  • Facebook - Belga

©2018 par Zoya Legrand. Créé avec Wix.com

     les

ORIGINES

L'histoire du Belga commence au nouvel an 2016, lorsque deux amis arrivés à Genève depuis peu et quelques peu éméchés par la soirée ont subitement une envie de frites. Se languissant des typiques friteries belges, ils s'imaginent en ouvrir une afin de pallier au manque dans la région. Le lendemain, ils se disent que ce n'est finalement pas une si mauvaise idée...

 

Trois ans plus tard, le Belga ouvre ses portes dans le quartier de Plainpalais. Le concept de friterie-bar propose des frites à base de pommes de terre suisses et cuites selon le savoir-faire traditionnel belge, accompagnées par une variété de sauces, viandes et autres spécialités belges, préparées à base de produits frais et locaux. La partie bar propose une quinzaine de bières belges, fréquemment renouvelées pour satisfaire les amateurs les plus exigeants.

Dans un style industriel inspiré des brasseries belges, l'ambiance se veut relax et décontractée

à propos de 

LA FRITERIE

Véritable institution en Belgique (on en trouve plus de 5000 dans le pays), la friterie (appelée également frituur ou frietkot en Flandres) est un établissement fixe ou mobile dans lequel sont servies des frites bien sûr, mais également toute une panoplie de snacks, viandes et sauces typiques. 

 

Jusqu'au début des années 1980, les frites étaient servies en sachet conique, la base du sachet étant en papier sulfurisé ensuite entouré d'une feuille de papier alimentaire. La sauce était servie directement sur les frites. On se rendait également "à la friture" avec un plat et un essuie de vaisselle. Le friturier mettait le plat à chauffer sur le dessus de sa friteuse, puisait dans sa réserve de frites et versait une quantité suffisante pour remplir le plat.

Aujourd'hui, les frites sont toujours servies dans un cornet en papier comme le veut la tradition. Les essuies de vaisselle ont disparus mais la frite, elle, reste authentique!